down arrowMenu

Higher Learning Commission Accreditation Review

February 25, 2010

HLC Steering Committee Meeting

Thursday, February 25, 2010

3:15 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Presidential Room, Maucker Union



  1. Welcome – Bev
  2. January 28, 2010 meeting notes - Shirley
  3. Open Forum follow up & self-study feedback– all
  4. Team Evaluators – Bev
  5. Updates to Cabinet, AAC, University Faculty Senate
  6. Transition – the passing of the torch - Bev     
  7. For the good of the order

Present:  Agee, Buse, Chatham-Carpenter, Cutter, Hanish, Hays, Kaparthi, Kopper, Licari, Martin, Morgan, Murtha, Neibauer, O’Connor, Pease, Uehle, Upah, Vinton, Wilson


Absent:  Arthur, Patton


1. Welcome – Bev

Bev thanked the committee for all of their work


2.  January 28, 2010 meeting notes

The notes will stand as distributed.


3.  Open Forum follow up & self-study feedback

After the March 12 feedback deadline, comments will be compiled and discussed by the steering committee.


4.  Team Evaluators – Bev

Below is a list of our team of evaluators:

Bette Midgarden-Chair            Minnesota State Univ.-Moorhead

Kathryn Alley                           South Dakota School of Mines & technology

Donald Betz                            Northeastern State Univ.-Tahlequah, OK

Anne Blackhurst                      Minnesota State Univ.-Mankato

Jo Calhoun                              University of Denver

Bruce Fox                                Northern Arizona University

Robert Guell                            Indiana State University

Lillie Howard                            Wright State Univ.-Dayton, OH

Jose Rosario                           Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. Indianapolis

Jeffrey Slovak                          Governors State Univ.-University Park, IL


Sleeping rooms as well as a meeting room have been reserved for the team at the Country Inn & Suites.  They will arrive in Cedar Falls on Sunday, November 7.  Steve Moon has agreed to provide computers at the hotel if needed.  The headquarters while they are on-campus will be in Gilchrist.


5.  Updates to Cabinet, AAC, University Faculty Senate – Bev

Bev has updated the Cabinet and Academic Affairs Council and asked that they be available while the team is on campus.  A list of all UNI policies and procedures, including the last time each was updated, was shared with the Cabinet.  During research for the report, we discovered a policy that has been pending since 1988.


July 1 is the deadline for all UNI web sites to be updated.  Each division has a point person who should be sharing this deadline with staff.


6.  Transition – the passing of the torch – Bev

Mike and Barbara have agreed to co-chair the self-study process. 


In addition to handling feedback comments, a conclusion chapter will need to be written as well as the addendum.  The addendum could include the new strategic plan, an update on FoE, and any developments that occur after the report is finalized.


Even after the report goes to UMPR, it will be very important that this committee is involved in the marketing and dissemination of information about the self-study process.  There are several bookmarks left over from the Open Forum and an abbreviated booklet for distribution to staff was discussed.


During July, a call for feedback must be made public and all comments go directly to the HLC.  Kate asked if the HLC shares these comments with us.


The next scheduled meeting is Thursday, March 11, 2010 at 3:15 p.m. in the Presidential Room.