down arrowMenu

Higher Learning Commission Accreditation Review

Task Force Members

First-Year Council Membership List & Charge

The First-Year Council is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the first year and for the assessment, monitoring, and reporting of specified first-year initiatives and learning outcomes. While this body is strategic in nature, it is understood that curriculum control is not granted to this body. Leadership of the Council resides jointly in the divisions of Academic Affairs and Students Affairs with appointments made by the Executive Vice President and Provost and the Vice President for Student Affairs in consultation with others as described below.

The Council meets once monthly or more frequently as needed. Given the collaborative structure of this body and the broad scope of its objectives, the Council will invite participation and input from a broad range of faculty, staff, and students in the achievement of its goals.


April Chatham-Carpenter, Co-Chair

Jon Buse, Co-Chair

Inez Murtha, Academic Learning Center & Diversity Council Representative

David Marchesani, Academic Advising

Jo Loonan, Admissions

Linda Corbin, College-based Academic Advising Lyn Redington, Department of Residence

Kristin Woods, New Student Programs

Ken Brown, CBA Faculty College Representative

Lyn Countryman, COE Faculty College Representative

Pierre-Damien Mvuyekure, CHFA Faculty College Representative

Paul Shand, CNS Faculty College Representative

Linda Walsh, CSBS Faculty College Representative

Ana Kogl, Liberal Arts Core Committee Rep.

Chris Neuhaus, Rod Library

Melissa Payne, Coordinator, Student Assistance/Outreach

Amber Blackmon, Student

Adam Haselhuhn, Student

Deirdre Heistad, Provost office representative (ex-officio)

Donna Vinton, Director of Academic Assessment (ex-officio)